### MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING OF THE PARISH OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST, HURST GREEN, HELD IN ST JOHN'S CHURCH ON SUNDAY 13 SEPTEMBER 2020 AT 10.30AM

**PRESENT:** Revd Anna Eltringham (in the Chair) 33 parishioners (27 in person and 6 on Zoom)

## THE MEETING OF THE PARISHIONERS

#### 1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Anna Eltringham opened the meeting in prayer and explained that it should have been held on 3 May 2020. Apologies for absence were received from Kenneth Bush, Janet Fearn, Robin Parker and Penny Roberts.

# 2. TO RECEIVE THE MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING (APCM) HELD ON 7 APRIL 2019

A copy of the minutes of the APCM held on 7 April 2019 had been circulated by e-mail. These were agreed as an accurate record and signed by Anna Eltringham.

#### 3. THE ELECTION OF CHURCHWARDENS

Both Cathy Booth and Chris Johns were happy to stand again as churchwarden. Cathy Booth was proposed by Sue Fox and seconded by Barbara Richards. Chris Johns was proposed by Julian Taylor and seconded Sue Fox. Cathy Booth and Chris Johns were elected unanimously.

Anna Elringham thanked the churchwardens who complemented each other well. She had brought a visual aid for each: a fire blanket for Cathy who is excellent at processes and legalities and is dependable and reliable; for Chris a bottle of hand sanitiser and funnel, specially labelled. Chris is practical, both with big building projects and all the little jobs that need doing.

## ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING

### 4. ELECTION OF FOUR MEMBERS TO THE DEANERY SYNOD FOR THREE YEARS

There was one nomination: Janet Harman, proposed by Diana Bush and seconded by Kenneth Bush. Anna Eltringham thanked John Mills and Janet Fearn who had been members for the past three years. There being no further nominations, Janet Harman was duly elected.

# 5. ELECTION OF SEVEN MEMBERS TO THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL: FOUR FOR THREE YEARS, AND THREE FOR ONE YEAR

Anna Eltringham thanked outgoing members Sue Fox, Amanda Starr, Janet Fearn and John Mills. The following five nominations had been received:

Sara Bartolozzi, proposed by Cathy Booth and seconded by Janet Harman Tim Gregory, proposed by Chris Johns and seconded by Julian Taylor Emma Kemp, proposed by Janet Harman and seconded by Cathy Booth Barbara Richards, proposed by Janet Harman and seconded by Pearl Hobson Janet Fearn, proposed by Cathy Booth and seconded by Janet Harman

Janet Fearn had indicated that she would like to take one of the one-year vacancies. There were no further nominations, so Sara Bartolozzi, Tim Gregory, Emma Kemp and Barbara Richards were elected for a term of three years, and Janet Fearn for one year.

### 6. REPORT ON CHANGES TO THE ELECTORAL ROLL SINCE THE LAST APCM

Barbara Richards, Electoral Roll Officer, said anyone wishing to join the Electoral Roll should speak to her. She reported a new Electoral Roll figure of 142, which compares with 133 at the last APCM. Terry Marnell was removed from the Electoral Roll and the following ten people were added: Ella Clay, Hayley Braganza-Clay, Jo Clay, David Cochran, Delphine Cochran, Sue Fraser, Mark Thompson, Sara Bartolozzi, Robert Gaut and John Paul Danaee. In addition, Jim Shannon was added but died shortly afterwards so has been removed again.

#### 7. (a) FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OF THE PAROCHIAL CHURCH COUNCIL (PCC) FOR THE YEAR ENDING 31 DECEMBER 2019, WITH THE PROPOSAL FROM THE PCC THAT THESE BE ACCEPTED

The Financial Statements for the year ending 31 December 2019 had been circulated by e-mail in full and summary versions, the latter also included in the annual report. The church log book for 2019 was also circulated by e-mail. This gives details of works carried out, contractors used, cost, grants obtained and faculties granted.

Anna Eltringham said Julian Taylor has done so much in his first year as Treasurer. ExpensePlus, online accounting software for charities and churches, is now in use, as is a card reader and Julian has encouraged us to join the Parish Giving Scheme (PGS). Anna said a big Thank You to Julian and also to Ian Wilks, who has continued to assist. We are also very grateful to Cathy Booth for the 'Let there be Light' campaign.

Due to the lockdown following the COVID-19 pandemic, collections in church are no longer being received and numbers in church are still restricted. Income from bookings of the Church Rooms and St Agatha's has also ceased.

Anna encouraged everyone to consider moving to the Parish Giving Scheme which was set up to help churches. The PGS administers the Gift Aid process. Information about this will soon be sent to regular givers.

The accounts, agreed by the PCC on 9 March 2020, were accepted unanimously.

#### (b) APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EXAMINER

Anthony Cock, who has been the Independent Examiner for St John's for many years, has stepped down and a huge thank you was extended to him. It was agreed that a letter of thanks should be sent (this has now been done).

We are delighted that Barbara Forrest has agreed to become our Independent Examiner for the forthcoming year. This appointment was proposed by Liz Parker, seconded by Cathy Booth and agreed unanimously.

# 8. QUESTIONS, COMMENTS, SUGGESTIONS AND OBSERVATIONS FROM THE FLOOR RELATING TO OUR CHURCH LIFE TOGETHER

Written reports on the different areas of church life had been circulated by e-mail together with the agenda for today's meeting; a limited number of hard copies were also available in church. A new format for the reports has been introduced this year. The A5 booklet, which is about half the usual length, is presented attractively with photographs and captures St John's perfectly. Anna Eltringham said we are St John's because of <u>you</u> (those present on the meeting and those joining from home on Zoom), and she thanked everyone.

Anna continued with some special thanks to: Stephanie Foster, who has been our Gift Aid Secretary for two years (this position is now vacant and anyone with the relevant skill set should speak to Anna or the Treasurer); Tricia Whyte, who has co-ordinated church life activities and social events for many years (Anna will pass on our thanks to her); Rachel Wilks, who has been the York Rooms Manager for 10 years. We are so grateful to her. Lisa Hall has now been recruited to take on this role.

There were no further questions or comments. Anna concluded with some further thanks, to Janet Harman (PCC Secretary and Administrator); her ministry colleagues, Mary Seller, Monica Fenton, Wendy Hewitt, Hilary Dilnot (who leads the worship), Charles Bradshaw and Neville Jacobs. We look forward to Lotwina Farodoye (Curate) returning to us.

Anna Eltringham closed the meeting with prayer at 11.04am.

Signed.....

Date.....